Hove-To in a Folkboat.

English spoken IF-boat forum for all topics.

Moderator: Moderator

Claro

Hove-To in a Folkboat.

Inlägg av Claro »

G'day Folks,

I'm new to this fantastic forum. We recently purchased a M26 from Sydney and sailed it down the east coast of Australia to our home port in the beautiful Gippsland Lakes in Victoria. The trip was approx 400 miles which we completed in 3 seperate sessions (Brooklyn to Jervis Bay 24hours; Jervis Bay to Eden 30hours; Eden to Lakes Entrance 30 hours).

Anyway, we sat out a few expected blows in sheltered anchorages and sailed in mostly favourable weather. We're now planning on doing lots of cruising along Victorian coastline and Tasmania which obviously involves the infamous Bass Strait. We sail conservatively and safely within forecasted weather windows but I'm aware we'll eventually get caught out in a significant, unexpected blow. I'd done a lot of research on Folkboats before deciding it was the right boat (small, affordable and seaworthy) and all reports seemed to say that the full keel and narrow beam was ideal for lying hove-to safely.

I'd really love to hear some details from people about Folkboats lying hove-to (heave-to) in heavy weather situations. Have you had to do this? Do you know details from anyone else who had to do this in a Folkboat? What were the conditions like (wind and sea) and how did the boat handle? What sail configurations / trimming did you use while hove-to and would you try something different next time?

Does anyone have experience in a folkboat with other heavy weather techniques they can share. Hopefully we'll never need them but preparation is always helpful.

I'm sure i'll have plenty of other questions coming up as I upgrade our boat.

Cheers folks, :D

Matt
yogiysh

Inlägg av yogiysh »

Hi Matt,

Check out the following blog about a 14,000 mile trip from England to Australia in a Stella folkboat.

http://14000milesacrosstheocean.blogspot.com/

Cheers,

Ysmael
Claro

Stella Mira